The holidays are upon us and this hopefully means relaxing.  In our home, this sometimes means heading to your preferred rental outlet (Zip.ca for me) and getting a movie.  Then you light the fire, start the popcorn, dim the lights and put in one of our TOP 7 Christmas Movies.

* Disclaimer:  This is not my wife’s list

 

1.  National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989)

Love this movie.  Clark Griswald reminds me of my dad and people say I am like my dad so… no wonder I like this movie.

Christmas Vacation

2.  Die Hard (1988)

Most people forget this is a Christmas Movie.  Not a traditional movie about peace, love and joy – but there is a Christmas Tree in it.

Die Hard Christmas Movie

3.  Batman Returns (1992)

Ahhhhh.  Christmas in Gotham City.  Another forgotten holiday gem (you can thank me later guys).

Batman Returns

4.  How the Grinch Stole Christmas (1966 – TV & 2000 cinematic)

A classic as I grew up and then Jim Carey took it to another level.   “He put the mean in green.” Thank you Dr. Seuss.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas

5.  The Chronicles of Narnia (2005)

I confess, this is not really a Christmas movie but Santa Claus does make an appearance so it must be added to the list!  An amazing movie experience!
The Chronicles of Narnia

6.  Gremlins (1984)

A flashback to my childhood.  Gremlins starts as a furry, cuddly Christmas present then turns out to be one of the most destructive creatures when conditions are just right.  Excellent!

Gremlins Christmas Movie

 

7.  While you were Sleeping (1995)

This is actually my wifes # 1 and would normally not make my list.  However she says she cannot start the holidays until she watches it so it is important enough to post.

(Update:  She watched it last night – let the holidays begin)

 

Your turn, what would you put on this list?

About thetop7

Seven is the Perfect Number

One response »

  1. DD says:

    What about Alvin & the Chipmunks?

Leave a Reply

