When I travel to the United States I always seek out businesses and establishments that are not available in Canada.

For example, heading down south always means a stop at the Waffle House because we do not have one in Canada.  The same goes for Chick-Fil-A.  The last time I was in the USA I packed my suitcase full of Chocolate Chex-Mix because I cannot find the delicious snack anywhere in the Great White North.

Consider this.  There are also businesses and eating establishments that are unique to Canada.  In fact, I would highly recommend a few.

Here are the TOP 7 Canadian Restaurants

1.  Boston Pizza

# 1 Casual Dining place in Canada with 340 Restaurants in Canada.  It took 32 years to open the first 100 locations and only 8 years to open the next 100.  We like Boston Pizza in Canada.

2.  Tim Hortons

Named after former NHL hockey player Tim Horton, this chain of coffee shops is the 4th largest publicly-traded quick service restaurant in North America.  With over 3600 locations in Canada and $2000 million in annual sales, Tim Hortons is a Canadian landmark. (FYI: You can also find over 500 Tim Horton outlets in the USA)

3.  Montana’s Cookhouse

Made famous in Canada because of amazing steaks, ribs and chicken.  I like it because I can draw on the tables.

4.  East Side Mario’s

This place has nothing to do with the Mario you see on the Nintendo.  Well, that is not totally true.  They are both Italian.

5.  Smitty’s Family Restaurant

If you like buttermilk pancakes, waffles, omelets and all-day breakfast you will like Smitty’s.

6.  New York Fries

New York Fries is a Canadian company with 201 stores in Canada, Hong Kong, UAE, Kuwait, and South Korea,but none in New York (or anywhere in the USA).  Make sure you try the poutine.

7.  Kelsey’s Neighbourhood Bar & Grill

I went on the first date with my future wife at Kelsey’s.  Did you know that Kelsey’s currently has a licensing agreement through early 2011 with CBS Consumer Products for the rights to the theme song from the 1980s sitcom Cheers? I guess Kelsey’s is a place “where everyone knows your name.”

Those are are favorite Canadian Restaurants, what are yours?

FZSWS9STG8Y4

About thetop7

Seven is the Perfect Number

5 responses »

  1. Kendra says:

    That is really cool. I never herd of some of those restaurants.

  2. […] Today I found myself sitting at a Tim Hortons.  This, in it’s self is not unusual as I make regular trips to one of Canada’s most famous restaurants. […]

  3. […] Today I found myself sitting at a Tim Hortons.  This, in itself, is not unusual as I make regular trips to one of Canada’s most famous restaurants. […]

Leave a Reply

