Do you have a bucket list?

You know, that list of activities or goals you would like to achieve before the inevitable passing from this earth?

A while back I watched the 2008 comedy-drama staring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman called The Bucket List.    The main plot follows two terminally ill men (portrayed by Nicholson and Freeman) on their road trip with a wish list of things to do before they “kick the bucket.”

The movie got me thinking.

As a middle-aged man, are there things that I desire to accomplish before I pass from here to there?

Recently I received news that a man from the neighborhood I grew up in had passed away.  Now this is not unusual as people pass away all the time.  What really got to me was how this man was MY AGE we had first met.

Life goes by quickly and we all will die.  Here is the question I have for you.

With death approaching us all, do you have a BUCKET-LIST and are you accomplishing the statements on it?

I found a post from a really cool blog written by Marelisa Fábrega.   The post gives you 525 ideas to help you develop your Bucket-list.  If you have never made any sort of bucket list I challenge you to do so.

What do you want to accomplish before you die?

Here are 7 Items that are near the top of my Bucket-List.

1.  Visit ancient ruins found in Greece, Italy and Israel

2.  Watch the Final Four in person.

3.  Take an Alaskan Cruise.

4.  Take a week long solo motorcycle trip.

5.  Learn to Kayak

6.  Complete a Masters Degree

7.  Personally hand out Christmas Shoeboxes (Samaritans Purse) to those in need.

What is on your Bucket List?

About thetop7

Seven is the Perfect Number

6 responses »

  1. happypoppeye says:

    …of course, although a bit more than seven. I had to cut mine down to forty some.
    http://wanderinground.wordpress.com/2011/03/20/the-bucket-list/
    Good post, John

  2. thetop7 says:

    7 is just to keep with the theme. Of course there is much more on my list. Thanks for the comment and BTW – you have a great blog.

  3. Jeff says:

    Good List Kent. Here is my List:
    – Go on a Humanitarian Aid Trip
    – Cross Confederation Bridge in PEI
    – Go on a Helicopter Ride
    – Swim with Dolphins
    – Write a Book
    – Go on a Jungle Zip-line
    – Visit the Grand Canyon

  4. Jessica says:

    Yep, I’ve got a list, one that I started back in high school and keep adding to every so often even now. My faves have been swimming with whale sharks and traveling to New Zealand. I’m most proud of finishing a marathon.

  5. thetop7 says:

    Well done Jessica. Thanks for your input.

Leave a Reply

