Pringles logo

If you have been paying attention to the news of late, you may have heard that Pringles, a product of Procter & Gamble, was sold this week to Diamond Foods for a mere $2.35 billion.

I had no idea fried potato flakes could be worth so much!

It was the the spring of 1990 (or around there) that I discovered the great taste of Pringles.

I had been sailing through life when I came face to face with a cardboard tube containing neatly stacked, saddle shapped chips.  I had always associated chips with bags or boxes, never tubes.  I was intrigued.

The first few original flavored chips tasted great.  I could tell that my relationship with Pringles was going to be a long one.  The only challenge came when the tube began to empty and I found my hand would not reach to the bottom of the tube.  Thankfully I was able to problem solve and when I tipped over the container, using gravity to direct the chips towards my finger and my opposable thumb.

I passed on my love for Pringles to my wife and then my kids.  With great pride I would watch my kids, each with their own tube of Pringles, reaching right to the bottom of the can.

Enjoy it while you can son, soon your hands will be too big.

In light of this recent business transaction, our TOP 7 list today is all about Pringles.

Here are 7 Facts about Pringles

1. There are 2 theories as to how Pringles got their name.  The first is that Mark Pringle filed a US Patent titled “Method and Apparatus for Processing Potatoes” on March 5, 1937.  It was at a later date that Procter & Gamble filed their own patent for improving the taste of their dehydrated processed potatoes.

Another theory is that the chips were inspired by Pringle Drive in Finneytown, Ohio.  The later seems to be the more supported of the two.

__________

2. Pringles were originally know as “Pringles Newfangled Potato Chips” but were forced by the US Food and Drug Administration to drop that name because they were not true potato chips.  You see, Pringles only have 42% potato content, the rest being wheat starch and flour.

__________

3. Pringles hit the market place in 1968.  However it took until the late 80’s to hit its full stride.  In fact, it was an advertising campaign called “Fever for the Flavor of Pringles” that pushed the chips onto kitchen counters.  In the late 1990’s, Pringles was a $1 billion a year brand.

__________

4. Pringles is known for its packaging: a tube of cardboard with a resealable plastic lid.

This form of packaging was invented by a a man named Fredric J. Baur. Baur died on March 4, 2008 with the request was to be buried in one of his Pringle cans.  His children honored this request by placing part of his cremated remains in a Pringles container in his grave.

__________

5. Depending on where you live, Pringles distributes certain flavors.  Here in Canada, we can get Pringles in 9 different flavors.  Original, Sour Cream and Onion, BBQ, Ketchup, Jalapeño, Salt and Vinegar, Bacon Ranch, Cheddar Cheese and Four Cheeses.

Pringles also has a line of EXTREME Flavors available.  If you have a craving for Screamin’ dill pickle, Rajun; cajun, Sizzlin’ Sweet BBQ or Smokin’ Hot Ranch – you can get them.

Apparently, if you lived in ASIA, you could get Pringles in Seaweed flavor.  Would love to try that one.

__________

6. In case you wanted to know…

pringles.jpg

__________

7.  Want to know how Pringles are made?  Here is an answer directly from their website.

Dried potatoes and other ingredients are mixed into a dough, which is rolled flat and individually discs are cut and placed in a specially shaped carrier which and then taken through the fryer. They are then seasoned, stacked and packed.  The whole process is fully automated

__________

What do you think about Pringles?  Make sure you visit their website.

About thetop7

Seven is the Perfect Number

One response »

  1. Cruz says:

    Greetings I found your website by mistake when i was searching Bing for this subject, I have to point out your site is absolutely very helpful I also like the style, it is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

