The other day I broke the Law.

What did I do?  I was driving 20 km/hr faster than the posted limit.  I broke the law and I humbly will pay the fine handed down to me.

The real question is how do I tell my wife.

Now breaking the speed limit and enduring the consequences is a no brainer.  But what would happen if you accidentally broke a law that you did not even know existed?

Well of course you will still have to pay the fine.  However it would be a very painful payment to make because your intention was not to break the law.  Your unlawfulness would have been totally unintentional.

The challenge we all face is that there are 1000’s of laws and by-laws that you likely had not idea that they even existed.

We would like to give you 7 of the strangest laws we could find.

1.  In Utah, it is illegal to swear in front of a dead person.

(Top 7 Comment:  I will make sure I pass this one on to my pastor.  He has a bit of a loose tongue.)

2.  In Alabama, it is illegal to wear a fake mustache that causes laughter in church.

(Top 7 Comment:  Good thing my fake mustache does not cause any laughter in church.)

3.  In Texas, it’s illegal to put graffiti on someone else’s cow.

(Top 7 Comment:  Whew.  The other day I drew on my own cow.  Glad that is OK.)

4.  in Alabama, putting salt on a railroad track can be punishable by death.

(Top 7 Comment:  I wonder what the fine is for putting pennies on the railroad tracks?  I used to do that all the time as a kid.)


5.  In Nogales, Arizona, it is illegal to wear suspenders.

(Top 7 Comment:  Uncle Kyle will have to make sure he wears a belt next time he visits Nogales.)

6.  In Atlanta, Georgia, it is illegal to tie a giraffe to a telephone pole or street lamp.

(Top 7 Comment:  Now where am I going to keep my giraffe secured when I shop at Wal-Mart?)

7.  In the state of Washington, it’s illegal to catch a fish by throwing a rock at it.

(Top 7 Comment:  “Kids, no more skipping rocks.”)

If you like strange laws, you will find more at a site called DribbleGlass.  Check it out.

About thetop7

Seven is the Perfect Number

5 responses »

  1. spouse of one of the Top 7 brothers says:

    Gentlemen at Top 7. I want to know which one of you got the speeding ticket!!!

  2. gerhard says:

    Since ignorance of the law does not stand up in a court case, it is a great idea to research the laws of your own state or province.

  3. Kendra says:

    Cool laws! I like reading them!

  4. Crazy Old Bat says:

    Law in Thailand makes it illegal to step on Thai money (coins or bills), because currency has the king’s face inscribed on it. I think someone also once told me that there’s also a law in Thailand that says something that basically says “if you own a piece of property (or maybe house too, I’m not sure) and you don’t check on the property or upkeep it, then someone else can come and claim the property and you no longer own it! I might need to verify this with a Thailand lawyer to make sure. So basically it would mean somebody could just come take your stuff if you don’t come around? Better not leave your house long, or it may not be there when you get back! That’s right, and don’t worry about the house. They’ll probably move that for you too, unless they’re living in it when you come back there!

Leave a Reply

