I am not sure if you noticed, but neither of us brothers did very well at Spelling in school.

Yes, occasionally, we put up posts that may include spelling errors.  I usually blame these errors on my brother, Kent, but I would be lying if I said I did not extensively rely on Spell-Check and proofreading to catch my mistakes.

I am really surprised that spelling is an issue at all.  My father was a successful teacher.  Both Kent and I completed post-secondary schooling.  And those days of writing out pages of the dictionary for disciplinary reasons are sure to have eliminated all our spelling errors.

Fortunately, the human mind is better at reading that I am at spelling.  Remember this e-mail that was circulated a while back:

“Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn’t mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a total mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit a porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Amzanig huh?

So, we hope you get the drift when you read our posts.  Here is our Top 7 List of our favorite misspelled words:

1.  Believe – “i” before “e” except after “c”.  Thanks, Dad.

2.  Existence – I always think the middle “e” is an “a”.  Spellcheck says I am wrong.

3.  Independent – Again, I want to add an “a”.  Is that so bad?

4.  Its / It’s – I had an argument with my boss over this one.  That time I was right.  “It’s” means it is.  “Its” is possessive.

5.  Colonel – Whoever created the English language got this one wrong.  It is an impossible word to spell.  The same goes for “sergeant”.

6.  Questionnaire – I fill out enough of these on-line that you think I would know how to spell it.

7.  Personnel – Personally, I always get that one wrong.

_______________________

For a more complete list, please go to http://www.yourdictionary.com/library/misspelled.html

About thetop7

Seven is the Perfect Number

Leave a Reply

