Peanut Butter and me do not get along.

Ever since I was a kid I have despised the hideous sandwich spread.  It is gooey.  It smells horrible.  And it tastes like …. Peanut Butter.

Yet for some reason my brother Jeff likes the stuff.

When I first got married I assumed that my home would always be a Peanut Butter free zone.  How was I to know that my wife liked the stuff too?

As our kids began to dominate our home I noticed that they too are Peanut Butter lovers. I am amazed how perfectly good Grape Jelly or wonderful Bananas are ruined by Peanut Butter. How can this be?  Has the world turned on me?

Today I sit before you humbled.

No, I have not decided to become a lover of the popular peanut spread.  Instead I will simply acknowledge the fact that many people in this nation like to cover their bread with Peanut Butter.  In fact, I think the PB lovers might just out number us haters.

Our list today is about Peanut Butter and what tastes great alongside it.  After a search online I discovered that Jelly and Bananas are not the only foods capable of mixing with Peanut Butter.  Here are 7 Combinations that you may not thought of.

1.  Peanut Butter and Honey

My sister used to love this one.  Sticky substance (Honey) plus sticky substance (Peanut Butter) equals a big mess.

2.  Peanut Butter and Green Apples

I can see mixing green apples with a nice caramel sauce, but PB?

3.  Peanut Butter and Onions

I don’t get his one.  Anyone want to help me out here?

4.  Peanut Butter and Ice Cream

Hot Fudge and Ice Cream – Yes.  Caramel and Ice Cream – Yes.  Peanut Butter and Ice Cream – I am not so sure.

5.  Peanut Butter and Marshmallow Fluff

You know that marshmallow stuff that comes in a jar?  Supposedly it goes well with peanut butter.  Not something to eat if you wear dentures.

6.  Peanut Butter and Tomato Sauce

I really do not even want to understand this one.  I guess it is some sort of Vegan Recipe.  Pass…

7.  Peanut Butter and Chocolate

I get this one and I think I might actually like it.  Peanut Butter Cups anyone?

_______________________

Let us know.  What do you think goes good with peanut butter?

About thetop7

Seven is the Perfect Number

7 responses »

  1. Karen says:

    My friend’s favorite is Peanut Butter and Bacon Sandwiches – surprisingly yummy!

  2. gerhard says:

    The reason we have Peanut Butter in our house is because several time a week I treat myself to a very delicious breakfast of Peanut Butter spread on Texas toast (toasted perfectly) topped with honey and slices of bananas!!! Yummm!! Don’t knock it until you have tried it, ok?

  3. Heidi says:

    Hahaha…you made me laugh:) My first thought was that Benjamin would be tickled pink to know that he’s not alone!!:) As for me…my personal favorite is with apples (I prefer Gala apples). Peanut butter & apple sandwich…or just apple slices with peanut butter smeared on them (great snack…younger 2 love them!).

  4. Jodi says:

    Peanut butter and syrup on french toast! Breakfast of champions. I could make some for you Honey?

  5. […] am not a big peanut butter fan but I still cannot resist these wonderful cups of […]

Leave a Reply

