Scraps

As a child I was never much of a cat lover.  It was not that I did not want to like cats, it was just that cats seemed to hate me.

I was always the guy who would get their toes attacked or scratched or hissed at.  For this reason I figured I could never like those cute felines because they did not like me.

When my kids got to an age where they wanted a pet, guess what they wanted?  They did not ask for a dog or a bird or goldfish.

My kids wanted a kitten.

Two years ago we go our first cat.  His name is Leo.  Then a year later we took in a 6 toed kitten (a polydactyl) named Scraps.   Both Leo and Scraps have turned out to be great pets.  In fact, I would say that they are better pets than any dog I have ever owned.  I guess you can now call me a cat lover.

Today I give you 7 reasons why Cats are better than Dogs

1.  Cats smell better than dogs

When one of our cats in on my lap, I have yet to push them off and say, “your breath stinks!”

2.  Cats have eliminated mice around our home

We live out on an acreage and mice come with the territory.  Since we got our cats we do not see a mouse unless our cats are showing off their latest catch.

Check out the video below and watch Scraps playing with a new friend.

.

3.  Cats do not bark at visitors

Cats also do not try to jump up on visitors and get their muddy paws all over your guests.  Sure dogs are happy to see visitors but at least a cat will show some respect.

4.  Cats can use a litter box

What a wonderful gift this is.  When our cats need to go number 1 or 2 they do not sit at the door a whine.  Instead they are sophisticated enough to just go and take care of business.

5.  Cats are cuter than dogs

We have all seen the videos on YouTube about the cute cats doing cute things with Lazer Pointers and pieces of string.  The dog videos are not nearly as cute.

6.  You don’t have to take cats for walks

Put your leash away because cats can go outside and be back for dinner on their own.  Their need for an exercise program for cats.  In fact some city cats never leave the security of their home and still thrive in that environment.

7.   Cats Purr is better than a Dog licking your face

I am not sure what you like better but when I am forced to combine dog breath with a wet tongue it does not make me feel real good.

Now the other option would be a cat sitting on my lap and purring away.  I will take the purr any day.

__________________________

* It is important to know that the above list is the expressed opinion of Kent, not of his brother Jeff.  Jeff is a dog-lover.

About thetop7

Seven is the Perfect Number

10 responses »

  1. Heidi says:

    Well I have to say that I’m with Jeff on this one:)! On the note of cats being cuter than dogs…well…I’ll work on getting video to prove that ones not true:)

  2. eva sorenson says:

    Kent, You are outnumbered in our family. Mom hates cats more than she hates dogs. I am greatly anti-feline as well. In Dad, you may have an ally. With Jeff being on the dog side…..sorry!

  3. thetop7 says:

    Heidi and Eva are smart women! Jeff @ 7

  4. thetop7 says:

    All I did was state the FACTS. Cats Rule, Dogs drool! Kent@7

  5. […] last week Kent created a post that contained informational errors. He created a post called Why Cats Are Better Than Dogs. Obviously, the title itself is considered a non-sense […]

  6. thedogman11 says:

    In your picture, why do you have to hold the Cat still beside your computer? Can’t it just stay? My DOG can!

  7. Imogen says:

    lol cats are better

  8. cats rule and dogs drool says:

    i thought it was obvious cats were better. (dog people won`t admit it)

    oh and yeah my cat saved my grandparents lives! when robbers were breaking in their cat woke them up and don`t robbers like kill the people that live in the house.

    that`s not all of the cat saving lives story

    Cat protects couple from deadly gas leak

    Schnautzie was still just a kitten when she did something big — really big — for her owners. At about 2 a.m. on a cold night in October 2007, Schnautzie ambled up onto the chest of sleeping Trudy Guy and began tapping Guy’s nose with her paw. The first time it happened, Guy ignored the adorable annoyance and went back to sleep. But Schnautzie was persistent: Tap. Tap. Tap.
    This time around, the pats on the nose woke Guy up, and she noticed the way Schnautzie was sniffing the air. She awakened her husband, Greg Guy, and they both heard an ominous hissing noise. A gas pipe leading into their Montana home had broken and was filling their basement with fumes.
    The Guys and their trusty feline fled the house. Firefighters later told the couple that if the furnace had kicked on — highly probable on such a cold night — the whole house could have exploded in flames. Schnautzie’s efforts earned her a Purple Paw award from the Great Falls (Mont.) Animal Foundation.

    Cat saves couple pregnant with twins

    Some cats, like Baby the 13-year-old tabby, tend to be timid all their lives. But on a night in January when multiple lives were at stake, Baby’s personality changed.
    Josh Ornberg and Letitia Kovalovsky — who was seven months pregnant with twins — had fallen asleep on the couch in their suburban Chicago home. The couple’s house was stocked with baby gear and recently assembled cribs.
    A fire began in a back bedroom, and the house began filling with smoke. Baby jumped on Ornberg and woke him up. “It’s kind of embarrassing that I needed my cat to wake me up, but she was my fire detector,” Ornberg told PeoplePets.com. “She’s usually not a very social cat, but she jumped on my lap and was jumping around.”
    The fire destroyed nearly all of the couple’s possessions and made the home uninhabitable for a time — but everyone survived. Wonder Lake Fire Protection Assistant Chief Mike Weber called Baby a hero. “We don’t know what the outcome would have been if not for the cat,” Weber said.

    Saved Family from House Fire

    Dianne Busscher was woken up at 4:45 a.m. by the cries of the family cat, Oreo, coming from the garage. Busscher went down stairs to see what the fuss was about. What she saw was smoke and flames; she quickly grabbed the cat and rushed back inside to wake up her husband and their five children.
    The fire destroyed the garage and a bedroom. None of the family was harmed thanks to the cat’s cries. As an interesting side note, none of the family had been too fond of the cat before this incident; however Jesse Busscher claimed “We love it now. This thing is getting some tuna tonight!” This is not as uncommon as might be expected – pictured above is another cat (Baby) who also saved her family from a house fire.

  9. YouIdiot says:

    You make me so mad. How dare you say that cats are cuter than dogs when its an opinionated matter. I don’t give a crap if you like cats, fine. Just don’t be so controversial about it, because when it all boils down who really cares what you think? I personally believe everything you have “Stated” and yes stated, it completely false.

    Do you know today a cat climbed through my window and attacked my Guinea pigs?
    I think they are disgusting attempts for animals and I never wish to own one, and why when cat lovers say that cats are superior to dogs they never back their theory up with solid evidence do they? Oh, dogs poop everywhere.. oh wow, and guess what? Cats bathe in their own litter, that’s why you train dogs.. oh, what’s the matter? Oh yeah, it involves some work. You make me so mad its unbelievable.

    Well, I like dogs because they are better with kids, never ever ever in my life have I seen a child play with a cat, because typically dogs fit with big families.



    I could show you so many more videos, (by the way, the video that you mentioned made me cry, I can’t bare it when animals get hurt, regardless if they are rodents or not I think its disgusting and I would never live with an animal that does that) but it just prove that every animal has something significant about them, but for me dogs win hands down.

  10. SimmiKat says:

    Cats are amazing and realllllly smart! Look, cats get whatever they want while acting like they are unable to perform a task. Cats can perform a trick 40x better than a dog, but they wont do stupid tricks just for a short praise from an owner, sheesh, their life is so much better, with 9 lives!

Leave a Reply

