I am Thankful!

Canadian Thanksgiving falls on October 10 this year. We, at the Top 7, are fortunate to spend it with our parents. There is sure to be lots of fun, food, and family.

Although there were many Thanksgiving celebrations in the “New World“, Thanksgiving was not officially observed as a civic holiday in Canada until 1872. At that time, it was celebrated on a Thursday in November. Later, in 1957, Parliament made the following proclamation:

A Day of General Thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest with which Canada has been blessed – to be observed on the 2nd Monday in October.

It seems impossible to list everything that we are thankful for, but here is a list of simple things that we often take for granted:

1. Family – We are truly blessed.

2. Canada – We live in one of the most privileged countries in the world.

3. Food – Alberta’s bountiful fall harvest is a reminder that I am not hungry.

4. Freedom – I am free to vote, move about, have opinions, and worship.

5. Home – I have a house in which I can stay warm and dry.

6. Health – Not only am I well nourished, I have access to health care whenever I need it.

7. Employment – I have the privilege to work at a job that provides for my family.

Happy Thanksgiving!

What are you thankful for?

About thetop7

Seven is the Perfect Number

2 responses »

  1. Jodi says:

    I like your list of seven. I am thankful for all those as well. However today I am thankful also for the beautiful fall we are experiencing right now. No snow yet!!

  2. gerhard says:

    I thank God every day of the year for the priviledge of living in Canada, the best country in the world. (I have lived in another country) I also thank Him that I can live in Alberta, the best province, , and that I can live in a small town in Alberta

Leave a Reply

