I have noticed a trend among the guys on the basketball team that I coach.  They all seem to be carry a water bottle around with them.

I asked one on the athletes why he carried water with him and he just looked at me and said, “I heard that drinking water was good for you.”

I pressed a bit more and asked, “How is it good for you?”

“It is supposed to keep me hydrated or something like that,” was his response.

Now I love his enthusiasm and I believe that his motives for drinking water are extremely pure.  Yet the reality is that he had no good reason to drink water other than the fact that someone told him it was good for him.

I believe that this young man will see all the benefits of drinking water however right now it is simply a “cool” thing to do.  If he truly understood the benefits of drinking 8 glasses of water a day he would likely make his new found practice into a life-long habit.

For those who know that drinking water is good for you but do not really fully understand the benefits, here are 7 reasons to drink more water.

1.  Water contains Zero Calories

Here is what this means.  If for one year you replace that daily Coke with a bottle of water, you will have cut 50,000 calories.

2.  Hydration

Everyone know this right?  Your body is 60% water and since you lose water regularly through sweat and other secretions, you need to replace it.  Water represents…

  • 83% of your lungs
  • 79% of your muscles
  • 73% of your brain
  • 73% of you heart
  • 71% of your liver
  • 64% of your skin

3.  Water helps with fatigue

If you wake up in the AM tired it could because you water intake has been low.  Instead of reaching for that coffee in the morning, give water a chance.

4.  Water is good for the joints

Water lubricates your joints and helps reduce joint pain and protect against wear and tear.

5.  Water helps keep you clean.

I am not taking about taking a shower.  Water helps to eliminate wastes and toxins from your body through the lymphatic system, kidneys, and intestines.

6.  Water helps with headaches

Many chronic headache sufferers have noticed that drinking more water helps ease the suffering.  It almost sounds too simple.

7.  Water makes you better looking

Actually your looks will not improve when you drink water but your skin will thank you.  Water naturally moisturizes skin and ensures proper cellular formation underneath layers of skin to give it a healthy, glowing appearance.

Make drinking water a habit in your life.  Water really is a healthy choice.

About thetop7

Seven is the Perfect Number

2 responses »

  1. Friend says:

    I think I will go get a drink right now! Here is an interesting thought . . . I was once told that by the time you feel thirsty your body is already dehydrated. Also when your lips and skin feel chapped you are very dehydrated. Sooo, if my skin is the lowest percentage on that list, it is curious to think of how much my brain, muscles and lungs, etc have suffered by the time I reach for my “cool” water bottle. Just a thought . . .

Leave a Reply

